What gets shared
When diagnostics reporting is on, each node of a CockroachDB cluster shares obfuscated usage details on a periodic basis. For more information about what information is shared, refer to Telemetry Collected by CockroachDB. To view the full diagnostics details that a node reports to Cockroach Labs, use thehttp://<node-address:<http-port/_status/diagnostics/local JSON endpoint.
In all cases, names and other string values are scrubbed and replaced with underscores. Also, the details that get shared may change over time, but as that happens, we will announce the changes in release notes.
Opt out of diagnostics reporting
Diagnostics reporting is required for Enterprise Trial or Enterprise Free licenses. Therefore, the cluster setting
diagnostics.reporting.enabled is ignored on clusters with these licenses. The following opt-out methods apply only to clusters with an Enterprise license.At cluster initialization
To make sure that absolutely no diagnostic details are shared, you can set the environment variableCOCKROACH_SKIP_ENABLING_DIAGNOSTIC_REPORTING=true before starting the first node of the cluster. Note that this works only when set before starting the first node of the cluster. Once the cluster is running, you need to use the SET CLUSTER SETTING method described below.
After cluster initialization
To stop sending diagnostic details to Cockroach Labs once a cluster is running, use the built-in SQL client to execute the followingSET CLUSTER SETTING statement, which switches the diagnostics.reporting.enabled cluster setting to false:
Check the state of diagnostics reporting
To check the state of diagnostics reporting, use the built-in SQL client to execute the followingSHOW CLUSTER SETTING statement:
false, diagnostics reporting is off; if the setting is true, diagnostics reporting is on.

